Area troopers recognized at awards ceremony

Two Indiana State Troopers from the Versailles District were recognized last week for their achievements over the past year.

Last week, Indiana State Police held their annual awards and recognition ceremony in Indianapolis, where troopers were honored for their service, dedication, and bravery to the department and to the citizens of Indiana.

According to the state police, Trooper Austin Straub was honored as the 2022 Trooper of the Year for the Versailles District. Straub is a three-year veteran and primarily patrols Jackson and Bartholomew Counties. Last year, he had over 1,300 traffic contacts including both tickets and warnings, 155 criminal arrests, 14 DUI arrests, and investigated 25 crashes. The State Police say that Straub also works closely with officers from nearby police departments, assisting them with calls.

Trooper Clayton Saltzman was honored at the recent state awards ceremony with a Life Saving Award. That happened after an August motorcycle crash on southbound I-65 in Jackson County north of the Seymour exit. A victim had suffered traumatic injuries to both arms and was bleeding profusely. Saltzman applied tourniquets to both arms to stop the bleeding. The man was flown to the University of Louisville Trauma Center where doctors said Saltzman’s quick actions saved the man’s life.

Indiana State Police Troopers, from left, Sgt. Zachariah Ruble, Trp. Clayton Saltzman, Trp. Austin Straub and Lt. Paul Adams at the recent annual awards ceremony. Photo courtesy of Indiana State Police.