Election: Lienhoop wins Republican primary for re-election as mayor

Columbus Mayor Jim Lienhoop has won the Republican primary election over his challenger Glenn Petri 71 to 29 percent.

There is no Democrat signed up for the November general election. Lienhoop faced a similar situation four years ago, where he had an uncontested path to mayor after winning the Republican primary.

In other contested primary races in Columbus tonight, incumbent Dascal Bunch has defeated challenger Chris Rutan by 55-44 in the District 1 Council race, while incumbent Dave Bush has defeated Russell Poling 52-48 in the District 3 council race.

In the three way race for the two nominations for the at-large seats on Columbus City Council. Josh Burnett drew the most votes with 43 percent, followed by incumbent Laurie Booher with 38 percent and John Counceller with 19 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Republicans Frank Miller and Tim Shuffett were in uncontested races today, as was Republican District 2 candidate Jim Hartsook and and Clerk-Treasurer Luann Welmer.

There were no contested Democratic races in today’s primary election. Council candidates Elaine Wagner, Michael Schoumacher, Ross Thomas, Grace Kestler and Tom Dell are all headed to the November election.

Just over 4,000 ballots were cast this election, about 14 percent of the 29 thousand registered voters in Columbus.