Three new Columbus officers sworn in Tuesday

Columbus Mayor Jim Lienhoop swore in three new police officers at this morning’s Board of Public Works and Safety meeting at Columbus City Hall.

Kyle Hildebrand is a graduate of Jacksonville Christian Academy in Florida. Hildebrand is an Indiana Law Enforcement Academy graduate and previously worked as a patrol officer with the Greensburg Police Department. He also serves as a volunteer with Columbus Township Fire and Rescue.

Tyler Boswell is a graduate of Jennings County High School and is a graduate of the University of Indianapolis where he earned a Bachelor’ Degree in Criminal Justice. Tyler previously worked as a corrections officer, reserve deputy and most recently a merit deputy with the Jennings County Sheriff’s Office.

Ethan Boutwell is originally from Edwardsburg, Michigan. He is attending IUPUC where he serves as a cadet officer and is scheduled to graduate with a bachelor’s degree in the spring. Boutwell has served with both the Indiana and Michigan National Guard.

The officers will begin orientation and in-service training at the police department and then continue on to the department’s field training program.

Ethan Boutwell
Kyle Hildebrand
Tyler Boswell