Seymour to elect new Mayor and Clerk-Treasurer

Eight candidates are looking to replace Seymour Mayor Craig Luedeman. The three-term Republican announced in November that he would not seek a fourth term.

Five Republican and three Democrats are aiming for the city’s top job. They are:

Matthew Nicholson currently represents Seymour’s Third District. He is facing former Jackson County Council President Bridey Grant Jacobi, Matt Rowe, Thomas Joray and Nathan Otte for the Republican mayoral nomination.

Rexanne Early Ude, executive director of Schneck Foundation, is facing Jim (Mike) Kelly and Tyler Henkle for the Democratic nomination.

Contested primary races include Council District 3, where Republicans Chad Hubbard and Joshua Dailey campaign to replace Nicholson.

District 4 incumbent James Rebber is being challenged by Seth Davidson in the Republican primary.

Four people are running to replace Clerk-Treasurer Fred Lewis, who announced that he would not seek reelection. In November, Democrat Kristine Hackman will face the winner of the Republican primary, consisting of current Council At-Large member Darrin Boas, Dave Stidham and Robin Ann Carpenter.

This year’s Primary Election is May 7th. The General Election is Nov. 5th.