Columbus municipal election results 2023

Updated: 6:45 p.m.

It is Election Day in Indiana with municipal races on the ballot. Columbus voters are choosing a new mayor, clerk and nine seats on City Council.

With early votes tallied:

Republican Mary Ferdon is leading the race for mayor over independent Sean Burton, 76 to 24 percent.

Incumbent Clerk-Treasurer Republican Luann Welmer is leading Democrat Quisha Jackson for the new clerk position 58 to 41 percent.

In the at-large races for Columbus City Council, incumbent Democrat Tom Dell is leading in the race for the three seats with 23 percent, followed by incumbent Democrat Grace Kestler with 22 percent and Republican Josh Burnett with 19 percent.

In Council races by district:

District 1
Republican Chris Bartels 57 percent
Democrat Nick Slabaugh 43 percent

District 2
Democrat incumbent Elaine Hilber 61 percent
Republican challenger Vicki Griffin 39 percent

District 3
Democratic incumbent Jerone Wood 51 percent
Republican challenger Sue Norman-Chapple 49 percent

District 4
Republican incumbent Frank Miller 58 percent
Democrat Keegan Hill 42 percent

District 5
Republican Jay Foyst 58 percent
Democrat Bryan Munoz 42 percent