Columbus city officials sworn in during New Year’s ceremonies

Columbus city officials were sworn in Monday at a ceremony at City Hall.

New mayor, Mary Ferdon was sworn in by Judge Kelly Benjamin.

In comments afterwards, Ferdon stressed the importance of public service.

Ferdon stressed the importance of civility and cooperation over the next four years.

Other officials sworn in included Clerk Luann Welmer as well as seven of the nine members of City Council.

Incumbent council members, Democrats Jerone Wood, Tom Dell and Grace Kestler were sworn in again as well as new council members Josh Burnett, Chris Bartels, Kent Anderson and Jay Foyst.

Council members Elaine Hilber and Frank Miller could not attend Monday’s ceremonies and were previously sworn in, officials said.

Ferdon also swore in the city department heads.

Photo: New Columbus Mayor Mary Ferdon speaks to the crowd at City Hall after being sworn in Monday. WRB Broadcasting photo