Columbus East seniors chosen for Lilly Endowment scholarships

Two Columbus East High School seniors have been chosen as the recipients of the 2023  Lilly Endowment Community scholarships in Bartholomew County.

Heritage Fund: The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County announced yesterday that Hallie Randle and Ariana Simpson would be receiving the scholarships.

Randle is the daughter of Andrew and Suzanne Randle. She plans to major in Speech Language Pathology. She has been active in Student Assembly, East soccer and track and field, Key Club, National Honor Society and St. Peter’s Church and Youth Group.

Simpson is the daughter of Martha Rosalba Dominguez Barradas. She plans to pursue a biology major. She has been active in Show Choir and Multicultural and Theatre/Drama clubs.

The two were chosen from 48 applications this year to Heritage Fund. Other finalists were Jessica Meza Sanchez, Tymon Ferguson, Ella Fisher, Matina Maharjan and Paula Ramos Perez from Columbus North, Briana Dwenger and Jaclyn Shaw from Columbus Signature Academy – New Tech and Gracie Greene from Hauser Jr-Sr High School.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and up to $900 per year for required books and equipment. They are meant for students planning four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a bachelor’s degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university.

Photo courtesy of Heritage Fund. HFBC LECS Committee members Robin Hilber, Erin Hawkins, Aida Ramirez, Jeanette Marsh, Carl Lienhoop, Scott Poling and Matt Kirr congratulate 2023 Lilly Scholars Hallie Randle and Ariana Simpson Wednesday at Columbus East High School