Council finalizes fireworks changes in Columbus

Columbus is moving forward with changes to local fireworks ordinances that limit the hours they are allowed around the Independence Day and New Year’s holidays.

City Council voted unanimously to give its final approval to the changes last night.

The changes are being made to bring the city code into alignment with state law and to allow the traditional celebrations around the Hindu festival of Diwali.

Under the change, fireworks can not be set off after midnight on July 4th or Dec. 31st, in line with state law. It allows fireworks from 10 a.m. in the morning until midnight on the Fourth of July and New Years Eve. In the five days leading up to the Fourth of July and the five days after, fireworks are allowed from 5 p.m. in the evening until 11 p.m., or until two hours after sunset, whichever comes first.

The ordinance change allows fireworks between 6 and 10 in the evenings on the day before, the day of and the day after Diwali. Diwali falls in October or November each year.