Deadline is today for municipal election filings

The deadline is today at noon if you want to file to run for municipal elections in Indiana.

In Columbus, there will be races for nine council seats, mayor and the new city clerk position.

In filings for city offices so far, Republican Christopher Bartels and Democrat Nick Slabaugh are seeking the District 1 seat. Incumbent Democrat Elaine Hilber and Republican Victoria Griffin filed to run for City Council in District 2. Incumbent Democrat Jerone Wood, along with Democrats Tony Hayden, Michael Kinder and Republican Sue Norman-Chapple have filed for District 3. Republican incumbent Frank Miller has filed for the District 4 seat and Democrat Dewayne Fillmore and Republican Kent Anderson have filed for council district 5.

Incumbent Democrats Tom Dell and Grace Kestler have filed to run again for an at-large seats on the council. Republicans seeking the at-large seats include Josh Burnett, Alex Engelbert and Chris Rutan.

No one has yet filed for the District 6 seat on the council.

Incumbent Clerk-Treasurer Luann Welmer and Democrat Quisha Jackson have filed to run for city clerk.

Republicans Mary Ferdon and Milo Smith have filed to run for Columbus mayor. Republican Matt Myers and Democrat Sean Webster had filed to run for the mayor’s office but have since withdrawn.

You can file by noon today at the Bartholomew County Clerk’s Voter Registration office in the courthouse.