Incumbents hold onto seats on Columbus City Council

Columbus City Council will have familiar faces next year, despite a strong showing by newcomers.

Incumbent Council members Elaine Wagner, Dave Bush, Frank Miller, Tim Shuffett and at-large member Tom Dell all won re-election to their seats.

Incumbent Democrat Elaine Wagner held onto her District 2 seat with a win over Republican challenger Jim Hartsook, 866-582. Wagner was relieved and thankful to win re-election, she said.

She said that the Democrats earned the 4-3 control of the council through hard work.

She said that she is looking forward to returning to the work of improving the city when the new council takes shape next year.

In City Council District 3, incumbent Republican Bush won over Katea Ravega 797-508. In Council District 4, incumbent Republican Miller defeated Democrat Michael Schoumacher 929-889. And in Council District 5, Republican Shuffett won re-election over his opponent Democrat Ross Thomas, 1058-845.